If I only had a brain….

fidgety fidget

Image by Rakka via Flickr

I am craving intellectual stimulation.

I never thought I would say this… but I actually miss going to class. I miss having homework.  I miss marathon paper-writing sessions for the entire night before its due.  I miss class discussions.

Now I’m just restless.  I’m craving something new to learn.  I started digging into my Theology of the Body book… but that got boring real fast. I think I’m done studying theology for awhile.  I think I want to tackle my list of “other stuff to learn about one day when I have the time.”  Said list includes:

-Cake decorating

-Flower arrangements

-Playing the cello

-Cooking edible food

-Sign language

-Photography

-Pottery throwing

-Sewing/knitting/crocheting

 

I think my brain needs something creative to do.  I like having a general structure for my day, but I hate the exact same routine.  I hate being alone all day.  I miss college, where I spouted random philosophies with my Johnnie Java and bags of puppy chow.  I miss the stress of writing 20-page-papers the night before they were do.  I miss having my brain stimulated on a daily basis.  I feel like mush.

 

In other news, I passed by a truck with a sign on it which read “LEARN HOW TO DRIVE THIS TRUCK!!! Go to Harper College!”  I giggled. Because you know, Harper College is a community college… and your mom goes to college..

I wish I had something more substantial to say right now.  But I don’t. So I will leave you with this:

Nothing is more practical than finding God, that is, than falling in love in a quite absolute, final way.  What you are in love with, what seizes your imagination, will affect everything. It will decide what will get you out of bed in the morning, what you do with your evenings, how you spend your weekends, what you read, who you know, what breaks your heart, and what amazes you with joy and gratitude.  Fall in love, stay in love, and it will decide everything.” Pedro Arrupe, SJ.

3 thoughts on “If I only had a brain….

  1. Great list…
    What about learning a foreign language? I might be bias but Italian is one of the romance and most liked language…just a suggestion. Ciao

  2. Actually, fun fact, Spanish was on the list, and then I took it off because I realized I would probably get sick of it, just like I got sick of it after 2 years in jr high, 4 years in high school, and 1 semester in college. Doesn’t sign language count as a foreign language? ;o)

  3. Yes,
    sign language does.. and I think it is amazing you are going to learn it…brava! My two children felt the same way as you did about Spanish.They speak Italian and keep up with it because of me and the trips to Italy.

Leave a Reply

