This Too Shall Pass

Life Goes On (Dragon Ash song)

Image via Wikipedia

Today I am thankful for how life goes on.

You may have never guessed this about me before, but I have struggled with depression on and off for years.  Each time I reach a new low, and each time it seems like it will be impossible to pick myself up and dust myself off.  But each time I do.  Life goes on.  Even when it seems like it could never, it does.

A lot of us struggle with loss, whether its in death or disappointment or whatever.  I know what it feels like for my world to stop in its tracks.  I know how awful it is that even when my world stops, the rest of the world doesn’t. It keeps going.  And it’s not easy to get going again to join the rest of the world.  But eventually you have to.  You have to keep on keepin on.  Because while you should never forget whatever it was that was so awful it made your world stop, you should never let it keep you from moving again.  Because when you give up and are not willing to budge, the rest of the world is still going, and you are losing.

Tonight I was with a couple new and good friends.  I had a blast.  This time last year I would have never dreamed of hanging out with these people because I never knew them.  I had other plans for myself.  But those plans fell through, and life took a new course, and I was disappointed and I was depressed.  And tonight I marveled at the beauty of the situation and how even though I lost what I had hoped for, what I found was better than I could have imagined.  If I had given in to my low and given up, I wouldn’t have made these great new friends, and I wouldn’t have had a night like this.  Like a woman giving birth I had to push through the pain in order to see this new life, and now that I’m seeing it, it seems as though the struggle was worth it.

Life goes on.  And it gets better.  It can get worse, but it will get better.  You just have to stick with it.  Keep on keepin on.  Don’t let all the yuck have the final say.  Jump back in and let life do what it does, and go on.

One thought on “This Too Shall Pass

  1. thanks for sharing! i normally shy away from lengthy blog posts, but yours (and don miller’s) are turning into the two that i actually find tremendous value in reading. yeah, just thought you should know. okbye.

Leave a Reply

