Mardi Gras… womp womp.

The Resurrection from Grünewald's Isenheim Alt...

Image via Wikipedia

So, whatcha doin for Lent?

That’s been a pretty standard question I’ve been asking many of my Catholic friends in the past couple days.  Whatcha doin for Lent? Because ready or not kids, it’s that time of year again… the time when the deadness of winter disappears and spring breathes new life into the northern hemisphere, and we Catholics acknowledge this paschal mystery in our 40 day journey toward the death and resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ.

I have a lot of things that I do not like about being Catholic, but one thing I do like is the 40-day Spiritual Olympics we call Lent.  It’s glorious.  It makes Easter more about the fact that Jesus saved our sorry behinds that one fateful day 1978 years ago (right? Am I embarrassing myself with my poor math skills?), and less about that fluffy bunny that bounces around and gives us chocolate and/or money (seriously. where did we get the Easter bunny from, anyway?).  Lent forces us to step outside of ourselves and figure out what is really important… like forgiving those who have hurt us (yikes), forgiving ourselves for hurting others (yikes yikes), and finding hope in all the shit we find ourselves knee-deep in.  I would hate to not be Catholic during this time… because we Catholics got it goin ON.  We are so hardcore.  We give up chocolate/coffee/TV/etc like a BOSS.  We torture ourselves for 40 days for the LORD.  And then, on that 41st day, we celebrate. We know what it’s like to lose something and then get it back.  Just like the disciples obviously felt when they lost Jesus and then found Him again.  We tapped into that like a maple tree.

Our 40-day Spiritual Olympics is obviously more than just suffering.  We fast in order to grow closer to God, we pray, and we give alms.  We live the paschal mystery every day in preparation for the actual death and resurrection of Christ.  We live, we die, we rise again.  We pray, we fast, we give back.  It’s beauteous.

So what are you doing for Lent?

What am I doing for Lent?  At the risk of sounding like I am broadcasting my Lenten promise for the soul purpose of getting everyone to think I’m this overly-pious weirdo, I am going to tell you because I am probably going to need someone to hold me accountable.

First, I am giving up listening to music in the car.  The only reason I will listen to music in the car is if I am not the driver… because well, that’s fair.  But I realize that between driving a bus and driving to and from the bus garage, I spend a lot of time driving around with the radio cranked, and that time could be used to grow closer to God. So. Silence it is.

Secondly, I am going to add a new blog post every day.  Writing has always been something thats made me feel connected to God, and I should do more of it.  At the very least, I want to post something I am thankful for every day.  The more the better.  But every day. I am horrible at these “every day” projects.   But now that I have said it… hopefully I won’t make myself feel like an idiot because I don’t post. So. Every day you can expect something from me. Even if it’s just a sentence.  A beautifully well-written sentence, of course.

Thirdly, I picked up an Operation Rice Bowl at church to start putting my spare change in to feed the starving children in Africa, or wherever the heck it’s going to go to.  That’s all I have to say for that. Pretty self explanatory.

 

Cool. So those are my Lenten promises… all out there for the internet world to read.  See ya tomorrow!

One thought on “Mardi Gras… womp womp.

  1. Pingback: Lent 2011: Are you ready for it? « An American Point of View

Leave a Reply

