Lucky There’s a Family Guy!

Stewie Griffin

Image via Wikipedia

One of my favorite shows to watch is “Family Guy.” I looove it!   I mean sure its offensive… but the beauty of the show is that it’s offensive to everyone… which means really, it’s offensive to no one.  Somehow that makes sense in my head.

Anyway, tonight I was struck by a rather profound scene.  It was the episode where Meg and Neil have their internship at the news station and get into a life-threatening situation, decide they don’t want to die without having their first kisses, so they kiss each other.  Neil, that slime ball, taped the entire thing and broadcasted it to the universe, and drama ensued.

One of the pop culture references in the episode related to the movie “American Beauty.”  Peter was filming Stewie pedaling on his tricycle, when his attention gets diverted to a trash bag floating on the street.  He marvels at the bag and tries to pull this complex life analogy from it, and then the scene cuts to God staring down from Heaven saying, “That’s just trash!  Do you have any idea how complicated your circulatory system is?!”

And okay, so God is rather obvious to spot at this point… but God’s line in the episode really struck me.  I get sidetracked a lot. My eye is on the prize, but then I see something shiny and my attention drifts toward it.  The shiny thing captivates me so much that I lose focus on what really matters.

I mean, really.  Have you marveled at yourself recently?  In a world where we have computers the size of our fingernails and phones that can play music, take photos, and let you play Scrabble with someone across the pond… it’s easy to get sidetracked by the shiny.  Technology is super great and amazing and has made life a lot easier and more convenient… but nothin beats YOU.  I mean have you thought about how complicated your circulatory system is?  Have you thought about how you have within you systems more complex than any of the most advanced technology in the world?  And you had it in you since you were smaller than the size of a peanut.

There is beauty right in front of your face.  There are things to marvel that aren’t always so obvious… but are always so marvelous.  Have you thought about how amazing you are lately?

Leave a Reply

